The number of COVID-19 cases in the whole state of Pennsylvania has reached 56,111, with deaths now at 3,707.

Twenty-four counties have reopened, while 13 others are still waiting for the government’s signal. The rest of the region will remain under a stay-at-home order until June 4.

Thirteen counties in the Pittsburgh region were allowed by Governor Wolf to ease COVID-19 related restrictions starting next week. This is a big step in reopening both the northwest and north-central parts of Pennsylvania.

The following countries that will be moving into the “yellow phase” beginning May 15 are the following: Allegheny, Armstrong, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Indiana, Somerset, Washington, and Westmoreland. These counties will be joined along with two dozen counties that were previously given the signal to loosen their restrictions.

Although re-openings are now in place, the general public is still advised to follow safety protocols such as washing hands regularly, wearing face masks when going outside, and observe social distancing.